What is WCAG 2.2?

The Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) are an internationally recognised set of website accessibility standards and recommendations. Created by the World Wide Web Consortium (W3C), the WCAG guidelines allow organisations to improve their web accessibility.  

The WCAG guidelines are accompanied by a number of success criteria. These provide measurable requirements to help organisations assess the accessibility of their website. 

What is WCAG 2.2?

What’s changing?

From October 2024, there will be several changes introduced as updates to WCAG 2.2. The current WCAG guidelines can be viewed on the World Wide Web Consortium (WC3) site.

The changes include: 

  • 9 new success criteria added to the existing list featured in WCAG 2.2. 
  • A greater focus on mobile accessibility. 
  • Improved guidance for cognitive disabilities. 



  • Greater alignment between WCAG 2.2 and international standards 
  • More focus on backward compatibility. This is where the property of an operating system, software, real-world product, or technology is interoperable with an older legacy system, or has an input designed for an older legacy system. 

If you’d like to find out more, you can view the full list of changes to WCAG 2.2 on the GOV.UK website

Boost your website’s accessibility

If you’re looking to embrace the full benefits of good website accessibility, but are unsure where to start, our team can support you.  

We offer web accessibility audits that can help you understand your accessibility performance so you can optimise your website to accommodate all audiences. 

For a free consultation with a member of our team, simply get in touch. 

We will discuss your requirements and help kick-start your journey to providing a more accessible website for your audience.